Creating an exhibition ready piece:

In terms of this module an essential aspect was to create a piece that was ‘exhibition ready’ and because my final artefact is a video I had to think slightly differently in terms of presentation method and what I want to achieve. Therefore, when it comes to hand in I will produce this video on a disk that can be inserted straight into a computer or laptop in which will then be played via a projector on the wall in an enclosed ‘pop-up’ room or space that would be created using boards. So after having done research into the types of projector on offer I would use the Hitachi projector and because audio is a huge part in my work I need to consider the way in which the viewers would listen to my soundscape. I have decided that in terms of an exhibition headphones will be a requirement not only because this will help cancel out the other noises of the room in which it is being viewed but also I feel this is a more personal experience for the viewer as it’s more intimate. I have done research and decided that the Sennheiser headphones available from the media loan shop would be the most practical. This means that when listening and watching this piece it feels as if you are present in the house itself creating the atmosphere of those living there now as well as the previous inhabitants and viewing the marks they have left behind.

I also like the idea of having a fairly lengthy piece because it allows those watching to dip in and out of the piece in an exhibition surrounding so each person can start listening at any time throughout the video for any specific length of time and get a sense of the piece. The spontaneity of this aspect mirrors the atmosphere created within the house which is what I wanted to create in the space given.

If this work is to be presented in terms of an exhibition I need to consider a name and what I want my piece to be known as in an exhibition surrounding. I came to the conclusion that ’27 Friars Road’ would be an appropriate name for this project because that is where the whole of my final piece is based, it’s simple, straight to the point and compliments the project without giving to much away. This is because it’s quite blatant that it is a house address and so I feel this is giving the viewer context in terms of what my project is based on but not all the information being given at once. I took inspiration from the title of the work ’41 Hewitt Road’ by Anna Fox whereby her concept acted as inspiration for my body of work.

In terms of context and creating a piece that is exhibition ready I need to consider if I want to give those listening any information by the side of the video and if so do I give this information before hand or after or not at all? I decided that I want to give this information by the side of the piece so that it allows viewers to get a sense of the piece while it is being played and as mentioned previously I don’t expect viewers to wait around until the end of the video in order to get the full description as it is a fairly lengthy piece as mentioned previously whereby the aim was to be able to dip in and out while still getting a sense of the location, hence giving the information before hand.

Artist Statement:

’27 Friars Road’ – Isobel Woolley

This video draws attention to the marks made by previous inhabitants in 27 Friars Road, it’s a way of showing what once was and the audio demonstrates what is there at present as well as mirroring what ‘used to be’ in terms of those previously living there. The atmosphere created by the images and audio give a sense of human presence and the effect the body can have on the environment.

 

Here is an example of how the video would be seen in an exhibition setting in terms of projector:

 

Untitled-1

 

final layout

My video will be shown in a darkened room, via projector as shown below. The size of the images fit the screen as wanted with the appropriate black space surrounding it and I also trailed the sound both with headphones and without to see the effect this would produce. As predicted the the sound filled the whole space without headphones and although this created an effective atmosphere the privacy wasn’t there so contradicting the ‘hidden aspect’ and intimacy of a home environment. However, when I wore the headphones that I would include in the exhibition the sound produced was a lot better in terms of mirroring the private aspect of my project as I am drawing attention to parts of the home that are usually tried to be concealed and the use of headphone echo this theme.

The size of the images are a way of drawing attention to these usually concealed marks made in the home and so this juxtaposition worked particulary well when viewed on this larger screen in which it will be seen in the exhibition space.

final images 1

final image 2

 

IMG_0497

final img 3

 

 

 

Leave a comment